If
you’re the kind of gamer who wants more out of his game than just pure
entertainment, you know the kind of person, the gamer who immerses
themselves in the story and becomes for a period in their lives, that
character, well if you are that kind of person, then THE WITCHER 2:
ASSASSINS OF KINGS has your name written all over it.
Developed by
Polish studio CD PROJEKT RED and published by NAMCO-BANDAI it really is
a cut and thrust above the rest in many ways.
As I have mentioned
before these “wandering around” kind of games with endless cut scenes
are not my cup of tea, not that this makes this a bad game, if it can
hold my interest then it must have something.
The storyline is pretty complex and based on the books of the same name by ANDRZEJ SAPKOWSKI as we all know.
THE
WITCHER 2: ASSASSINS OF KINGS is of course the follow up to THE WITCHER
a hit back in 2007; all you PC gamers out there have already been
playing THE WITCHER 2: ASSASSINS OF KINGS for nearly a year now as it
was released back in May 2011 so I imagine you won`t be reading any
further.
NAMCO –BANDAI have finally took the plunge and released
it on Xbox 360®, will it do well? You ask ,personally I am not so sure,
as there are quite a few great sword and sorcery type games out at the
moment, KINGDOMS OF AMALUR to mention just one, and with SKYRIM selling
well, this game has to have something special to beat them.
THE
WITCHER 2 is the story of GERALT OF RIVIA a pasty faced, grumpy kind of
guy who for some reason is a bit of ladies’ man (there’s hope for us
all)he isn`t the kind of dude you would invite to a party to liven it up
that’s for sure.
GERALT`S
job is that of a monster slayer and as you quickly find he is not your
everyday monster/demon killer, even if he does sport a 90`s type pony
tail and can make his eyes glow.
THE WITCHER 2 is a very complex
game and is definitely aimed at adults, not because of the sex, violence
and of course bad language,(again what is it with swearing in these
games ) but the game tries to stimulate our intelligence with a deep and
intricate story, this is way beyond many of its contemporaries and has
been a big hit amongst the PC fraternity because of this.
Personally
as I have mentioned these games tend to bore me, I did after a while
start hitting the skip button because of the endless cut scenes ,and I
did think the controls where not that great , the game did remind me of
ASSASSINS CREED but without the action and dynamic game control.
As
a gamer who can take or leave these kind of games I didn`t find it as
interesting as KINGDOMS OF AMALUR or SKYRIM and the both these games had
better in game controls.
OK there is much to praise about THE
WITCHER 2, with such an incredible array of potions and spells as well
as a plethora of weapons and armour, and you have to think as you enter
each situation as to what spells and potions etc you will need for each
event.
This is very much a thinking mans (or woman’s) game, if you are after a good old slash fest then you will quickly tire of this.
THE
WITCHER 2 is a vast extravaganza with plenty of side quests available
form fist fighting in bars, playing pokerdice ,getting involved in
missing persons and even ghost stories, again the usual kind of thing
for these type of games. I do like the way it is crafted though with
well thought out quests that are more than just “fill ins”
The
scenery is highly detailed and well lit but I still kept thinking of the
comparisons to ASSASSINS CREED, in fact GERALT even wears a hood for a
while.
PC gamers of course get the better deal as the frame rate
and graphics are way better, but if you load it onto your XBOX 360® hard
drive then quality does improve.